Digital Citizenship

SLItech members had an opportunity to reflect and discuss various aspects of digital citizenship. In a school division that already has Citizenship and Social Responsibility Standards from K-9 in place (and grades 10-12 being worked on), we continue to strive to integrate “citizenship” into our lives. Below are the questions  and resources that each school site discussed.

Activating My Prior Knowledge:

  • Based on my knowledge of citizenship and of technology integration, how might I define Digital Citizenship and what would I list as components of it?
  • What kinds of behaviours do I observe when people use technology that make me wonder: “Is this appropriate?” “How can I address this?” “How can I teach my students/staff about … ?”

Applying in My School/Classroom:

  • What does digital citizenship look like in my school/classroom?
  • How do I teach students/staff to use digital technologies?
  • How do I get my students/staff involved in being responsible digital citizens and what resources can I use to help them?

Digital Citizenship website:

http://www.digitalcitizenship.net/Home_Page.html

Nine Elements of Digital Citizenship:

http://www.digitalcitizenship.net/Nine_Elements.html

  • Digital Access – full electronic participation in society.
  • Digital Commerce – electronic buying and selling of goods.
  • Digital Communication – electronic exchange of information.
  • Digital Literacy – process of teaching and learning about technology and the use of technology.
  • Digital Etiquette – electronic standards of conduct or procedure.
  • Digital Law – electronic responsibility for actions and deeds (ethical use)
  • Digital Rights and Responsibilities – those freedoms extended to everyone in a digital world.
  • Digital Health and Wellness – physical and psychological well-being in a digital technology world.
  • Digital Security – electronic precautions to guarantee safety.

They relate to each other in a number of ways and they fall into three categories:

• Elements that directly affect student learning and academic performance

• Elements that affect the overall school environment and student behavior, and

• Elements that affect student life outside the school environment

From these discussions, SLItech members asked for a website to be created that would be of use to their staff, students and parents. PSD’s Digital Citizenship Wiki was therefore created for this purpose. As well, for those who are social bookmarkers, a Diigo group was also formed.

By slitech

Leave a Reply

